What's new

The Dangers of H2O2 in hydroponics (“The Slime” and Root Rot)

U

Ultra Current

EDIT: December, 11, 2011: I have to finish testing to give you my final opinions on H2O2 but I have 3 more important tests that I have to do first. Because I will never run H2O2 again, this test is the least important for me to finish but I assure everyone that I will within 30 days or so cause I know some of you love your H2O2 and want to know more specifics. Stay tuned...

In my opinion I believe that there is a lot of misleading information on the web about H202 in hydroponics. I’ve been growing hydroponically for many years in DWC, Aeroponics and Ebb & Flow. I’ve been very interested in learning about growing these magical plants and I do many tests to figure out what is going on. I have many lab grade tools to conduct these tests and I am well aware of the many variables involved that most people can’t seem to see when I read a lot of tests that people have done on the internet. I see a lot of information about growers using H202 as a preventative measure in hydroponics and I would greatly advise against it. It is a much better idea to use Chlorine as a preventative measure and if you use it correctly, it will be very difficult for you to lose a crop. I’ll get into Chlorine a little later but as far as H202 goes, these tests were done with 29% H2O2 in RDWC, Ebb & Flow and Aeroponics.

Aeroponics Test: