What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

NoobwannaB's Fabric Pot SIP method (works with hard pots too)

noobwannaB

Hi everyone. I'm fairly new to this forum...been a member for awhile but made myself 'at home' elsewhere. I'm on an ipad, and this forum always lagged for me making any time spent here unbearably frustrating. Just found the app (TapaTalk) and was asked by a friend that recently found this forum to 'share the goods' here, so ...here goes.
It's caught on fast in this other forum and people are loving the results. I wasn't sure which area to post this in, but I'm sure the mods will take care of that ;)

Since I'm new with no rep and a relatively new grower (started a year ago) you have no reason to take me seriously or trust me, but if you have some perlite, and a suitable tray/saucer laying around I challenge you to try it....you may just be pleasantly surprised. Doesn't matter to me....it's your grow. :D

This method is especially effective with organic soil, and was designed with it in mind, but I see no reason that it wouldn't work with bagged soil. It does go against everything we've been taught about the wet/dry cycles, but with organic soil the benefit of keeping it evenly moist is huge.

I love the health and vigor I've witnessed with a SIP (self irrigating planter) system, but have no room for 5 gallon buckets in my grow room. Frankly I like to keep my plants smallish and love the benefits of fabric pots as well, so I went looking for something that would provide the evenly moist condition for the soil (the benefit) without using large self contained buckets full of soil and came up with this.