What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

My little Urbstead (urban homestead)

captain planet

Veteran
Getting ready and gearing up for the 2013 season and I thought there might be a chance others might be interested in what I got goin on. I don't have a ton of space and I'm not a pro, but I really enjoy producing (some) food for and with my family, and connecting with the luna's. I live in a big city and have about 25 x 25 yard. I have 6 2 x 8 raised boxes for veggies , 2. *1 x5ft for herbs, various wine barrels and pots..... In ground will be 3 black beauty squash, 3 yellow str8 neck squash, working on getting a fig (purple)tree, and an apple tree. (gala) . Must have as of yesterday a rain barrel, just haven't got around to it. **Next post, full seed list!

captain planet

Veteran
Perennial herbs: *no seeds anymore, *sage, oregano, thyme, mint ( is mint perennial? If not it reseeds itself well) and our dill reseeds itself well ( we get really pretty caterpillars on the dill that turn into black swallowtail butterflies, really cool)*

we will be starting genovese basil, cilantro, parsley moss curled, rosemary (all Martha Stewart USDA organic seed) .... I think were gonna find a few spots for lavender. That's about it as far as herbs go. But we r planting cold crops soon so let me go grab them..... I'll be back

captain planet

Veteran
Cold/cooler crops
Dwarf blue kale
Bloomsdale spinach
Rainbow chard
Cosmic purple carrot
Danver 126 carrot..... All from "sustainable seed co."

And add Russian tarragon to the herbs

captain planet

Veteran
Tomato we have: csikos botermo, and pantano romanesco