What's new

My 8ft 24 Bulb 624 Watt CFL Hood/Fixture For Under $150

Elite

Greetings,
Bare in mind I'm a professional Electrician with many other equally impressive qualities. So I have alot of materials laying around. The rest I purchased. I'm not really going to do a step-by-step
verbal (typing :wink:) I'll let my pictures do the talking. Bare in mind, none of my "impressive" qualities are photography :tongue:. Plus because all the stuff I have, my work space is very limited. Unfortunately, due to the nature of the build, I couldn't exactly take it out to the driveway for professional shots :D

Materials:
2x5'-Straight/Round 8" Ducting (Had)
12/2 UF Wire (Standard Romex is fine)(Had)
Misc Materials....$40
(Plug ends, Mounting Hardware, Ect.)((Hardware Stores))
Fixtures............$35(Lowes 6 Bulb Vanity Lights)
Bulbs...............$55(Wal-Mart 26 Watt CFL's 6500K x 24)
Paints..............$20(Wal-Mart Rustoleum White Primer x 4-6 Cans)

:cool:Elite

Elite

Basic Hardware, I used two 5'x8" round ducts...turned them so both ends the except the flex ducting (ribbed or male end) overlapped them and screwed them together. I use nice little self tapping screw (I call the text screws) that are perfect for duct work. They make the job alot easier because your going to use a bunch.

Elite

I Attached metal brackets, mine where made to hold plumbing pipes, However those duct work straps (stud to stud) would've worked fine too. It was a matter of availability. I then installed the mounting hardware. Washers on both sides...don't half ass things :noway:

:DElite

Elite

Measuring for mounting

Painting Parts (3 Coats because I'm a bit of a perfectionist:smile:)

Mounting the fixtures. I off-set each side so the the bulbs will cover every 3" instead of the 6" that the fixture was designed for. Equals much more coverage...Definitely a plus in my book!!

Elite