What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Lophophora Williamsii (Peyote) cactus growing

Somatek

They grow very slow, which is why most people grow T. Peruvianus for personal use as it grows much quicker despite having lower alkaloid concentrations.

Reactions: Gry

Douglas.Curtis

Autistic Diplomat in Training
They grow very slowly, even in the desert environment they come from. It IS still growing... right!!?!? lol

The size of your palm? Bigger? Not sure really.

Wait... you eat these?? What kind of a hero? lol

I only know the natives around here make tea out of it. I have no personal experience with it, just brief conversations on the subject.

BOMBAYCAT

Veteran
What he sez, very slow to grow. I believe on the internet they have other types of cactus available in the quantities needed. If you can get the Vice Network on cable, look for streaming of Hamilton's Pharma as they have episodes about all sorts of drugs. Among the episodes are a show about Peyote and also one about a South American cactus.

Hombre del mont

Dr of Stupidity
I have several growing in my garden and they take may years to grow to maturity, if i was intending to take it I wouldn't bother growing it as it just takes too long. As @Somatek says, if you want to get high then look to T. Peruvianus. They grow real quick in comparison; Our local garden centre has them; 3 or 4 in a little pot for about 3euros. I have many protecting our cortijo from evil spirts.
They grow really well and quickly from cuttings.