What's new

Avoiding Root Aphids in recycled organic soil!

moses wellfleet

Veteran
If you are not careful Recycled soil can be colonized by root aphids. What can we do to keep them away?

I will be inoculating my medium with the entomopathogenic nematode steinerama feltiae I have never used these before, but I have seen them mentioned in the many root aphid threads here on icmag. Failing that I intend to try the parasitic fungus beauvaria bassiana, which I have used before to control fungus gnats, with some success.

Depending on the results I will update the biological control index and the IPM thread! Any suggestions from other organic mechanics, please post?

Last edited:

Granger2

Veteran
Beauvaria works. You could also amend your soil as it goes into storage with Met 52. Mfgr claims good at least for a year if in always moist medium. OGBioWar contains both of these fungi. Good luck. Keep us informed. -granger
Get Met 52: Green Mountain Harvest [email protected]
Fresh Product, good service

Don't buy it from Rogue Farmer. Much higher price, told me they were getting fresh product, sent product with expiration date 1 month away.

moses wellfleet

Veteran
Beauvaria works. You could also amend your soil as it goes into storage with Met 52. Mfgr claims good at least for a year if in always moist medium. OGBioWar contains both of these fungi. Good luck. Keep us informed. -granger

Don't buy it from Rogue Farmer. Much higher price, told me they were getting fresh product, sent product with expiration date 1 month away.

Ok. Thanx Granger. I heard mostly good things about OG bio war.

VerdantGreen

Genetics Facilitator
Boutique Breeder
Mentor
ICMag Donor
Veteran
would neem meal kill them?. i find it a great fertilizer and i never get any gnats these days.

never had root aphids on cannabis roots, but then i tend not to add other plant matter like dandelions to my pots because root aphids love those fleshy roots and its easy to infect your soil.

VG

moses wellfleet