What's new

are coco nutes necessary?

this is a ? thats not going to really be answered how you ...i dont no..."want" it to be answered??.....just do what works for you is probably the best advice....

Im not looking for any answer one way or the other. just want to know if guys are getting good results using normal nutes. im not really trying to buy a new line of nutes if ive got some cal mg and it can be used instead...
anyway, thanks MMM.

i was talking with a dude on here earlier who uses just maxibloom from gh by its self with a tad of ph up, for veg and bloom and gets killer results. he says he has no cal mg issues.

D

DickDasterdly

I have used Dutch masters gold line in top feed with no problem, and Atami Organics in Hempys with no problem

G

grasspass

I'm new to coco, but after rinsing new coco, I watered the coco with Epsom salt in the water before using it , using reg hydro ferts and water on the hard side , I'm not seeing any mag deficiency. [hempy style bucket] If mag def shows up later , I'm just gonna add a little Epsom salt to the feeding.

Last edited:

spurr

Veteran
ive seen yes and no. it seems like adding additional cal mg is all thats needed , right?

Additional Calmag isn't needed if Ca is > 75 ppm (over 100 ppm is better) and Mg is over 50 ppm your all set. For example, you can use the Lucas formula in coco with excellent results, no need for extra CalMag. I have used coco and peat in the same exact fashion, I write from experience and from knowledge of soil science.

There is no need to 'charge' coco as is often claimed, the "percent base saturation" of CEC in coco is not really a concern because the CEC of coco provides low "effective CEC" (see below for info).

Here is some non-technical reading on this topic, but note it's for soil, that has much higher bulk density than coco. See what I wrote below for reasons why CEC of soil is not well related to CEC of coco (due to the very low bulk density of coco):