What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Led lights still on 5% when timer off

Rastafarout

Premium user
I have an HLG 600R , had dimmer problem , wouldn’t dim so got a replacement
Now when the timer is off , I tried a few timers .. the LED panel is still getting power but very little ..
I’m no electrician how is this possible?

IMG_7696.jpeg

Hasch

learning and laughing
I’m not sure what you mean , I cant turn the plug as it’s set in the wall ?
Yes.
At least here our power plugs have just two pins, so turning the plug 180° changes in which hole of the power outlet the respective pins sit.

Am no electrician and at first glance I thought that sounded weird carzy but afaiu it makes in our electrical system here.

Just try it 😊

Last edited:

Rastafarout

Premium user
Thanks bro , we have three pin plugs they only go in a certain way you can’t just turn them
And what’s afaiu?

X15

You can find them for fairly cheap. Like 80 bucks online. You’ll have it for a long time and will pay for itself in anxiety and worry.

Brother Nature

Most likely bad wiring, check your earth/neutral wire first, but also check that your dimmer is a LED specific dimmer, if you're using an incandescent dimmer it will never reach a full "0" on turn down due to the voltage need difference in LED vs. older lights, they will 'leak' power. A 1w power leak won't power something requiring 60w, but if it only requires 5w to illuminate you will see some powering to the diodes from that leak.

X15

They are also known as a light controller. They are mechanical and most will need a main power cord to be wired in. Easy stuff.

Rastafarout

Premium user