What's new

I'm looking to buy a 50-100 KW Generator. Need some help selecting fuel and model.

Snype

Veteran
I'm looking to buy a 50KW - 100KW generator but I've never used them before and would like to get some info from people who are experienced with them. Here are my questions:

1. I want to stay off the grid so is it better for me to go with Gasoline or Diesel? Why?

2. Can I only use half of the watts for the generator or can I use all of them without overloading it?

3. If I'm running 100 KW at half capacity(50KW) for 12 hours per day, around how many gallons of fuel will I be using per day?

4. What is the make and model of the generator I should buy? Why?

5. How loud is a brand new generator that was made in the last couple of years?

I'm looking forward to learning more about generators so I can start working on my new OP. Thanks in advance!

NiteTiger

Tiger, Tiger, burning bright...
Veteran
Great thread on this is "Diesel Generator (as your primary power source)"

In short

1) Diesel, burns more types of fuel (including vegetable oil for the zombie apocalypse), and operates at lower temperatures and RPMs, giving longer life.

2) Yes, as a matter of fact, you don't want to run ANY electrical device at max load.

3) Depends on the generator. The generator stats should tell you fuel usage stats for 25%, 50%, 75%, and 100% load.

4) & 5) - Come on man, gonna have to do SOME research on your own :D

NiteTiger

Tiger, Tiger, burning bright...
Veteran
Oh, and get 2. Breakdowns with a single gen as your only source could mean weeks w/o power.

Sam the Caveman

Good'n Greasy
Veteran
go to the hardy diesel website, they have all the info you will need about every generator they sell. fuel consumption at different electricity draws for each generator.

Diesel generators can be run at the rated power production continuously, and they also run the most fuel efficient per kwh at that rating.