What's new

from Seeds to Seedlings in Soil (play-by-play)

Shmavis

Being-in-the-world
Hello ICMag Friends!

I’d like to share with you what I’ve been up to this past week and a half. And why.

I am a Newbie here. This is the first site of this sort that I’ve ever searched, let alone joined. (I’m still somewhat it awe of all the great knowledge and information here. :respect:)

I’ve noticed in my time here that some new growers struggle with going from Seeds to Seedlings in Soil. It breaks my heart to see babies - and subsequently their caretakers - suffering like this. This has inspired me to document and share a seed pop.

I’m no expert by any stretch of the imagination. And over the years I have made more than my fair share of mistakes along the way (still do!); but I have learned from most of them. And more often than not my method results in happy healthy seedlings.

That said, I thought I’d like to do a detailed play-by-play with lots of pics (I know visuals help me) of how I go about it. If it benefits just one new grower out there, then it will have been worth my time. I was going to post this once completed. But it now looks as though it will be easier to do this in real time. (Probably be better anyway, if we’re all in on this together.)

So let’s get y’all caught up to real time!

Germination:

One gallon of distilled water. Pour out roughly a half cup. Add to the water 1/2 ounce of maxicrop, 1/3 cup hydrogen peroxide and two drops of Superthrive. Pour a few inches of this solution into a cup. Toss your seeds in. Once they sink they’re ready for a paper towel nap. I let these soak overnight. Next morning I found they all had sunk. This was a bit more than ten hours. (It’s fitting that the pic is kind of blurry as it was a holiday weekend and I was feeling a bit blurry myself that morning.) They’re now ready for a paper towel nap.

picture.php

picture.php

picture.php
picture.php

Shmavis

Being-in-the-world
picture.php
picture.php
picture.php