What's new

Why not just use soil?

Im fairly new at growing indoors, but Ive been growing outdoor plants of all kinds since childhood. I see all these people with hydro grows will all kinds of problems that Ive never, ever seen with my soil grow. Plants are supposed to grow in soil, so why doesnt everyone just use soil like god intended?

Im confused about this...

O

OrganicOzarks

You can not pot soil, and grow in it. Try it out, and see for your self.

komboloi

I used to grow in soil. Just got tired of the slow growth and messy dirt all over the place. I don't have "problems" that stem from my growing hydro.

And if you are worried about what "god intended", you shouldn't be growing indoors under artificial lights anyway.

PuReKnOwLeDgE

Licensed Grower
ICMag Donor
Veteran
Soil is just a more forgiving medium to mistakes, some people in hydro have no business being in it that medium so that is why you see alot of jacked up shit. God didn't intend soil to be used, plants have evolved in soil. Lets not bring unicorns into this.

I used to grow in soil. Just got tired of the slow growth and messy dirt all over the place. I don't have "problems" that stem from my growing hydro.

And if you are worried about what "god intended", you shouldn't be growing indoors under artificial lights anyway.

I lol'd. Maybe because Im new to indoor growing i just dont understand, thats why I asked. Do hydro plants actually grow faster? Ill probably grow soil for a few more years before id ever attempt hydro

You can not pot soil, and grow in it. Try it out, and see for your self.

I dont understand. I am in no way dogging people who are pros that can grow in hydro, I just dont understand why people do it when it seems they cant get anything right with all kinds of issues. My bother tried it, and had the crappiest little dinky buds ever. I may try growing a single plant in hydro just to see if its something I can acually be successful at.