What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

What's the best brand of coco?

COS

I just bought some botanicare bagged coco and it has yellow mushrooms growing it. I've been using botanicare for a few months, but after seeing mushrooms in 2 bags of them makes me want to switch to another brand of coir. I'm going to return these, and try somthing different.

f-e

Mentor
Veteran
Canna has a quick turnover. The local distributor sends out a lorry full each day. That's a lot of coconuts. Then think globally.

I did try others but I'm happy with the flake. It riddles out from the root mass easier.

Roadblock

I was forced to use the el-cheapo brand from the hardware store full of salt, a good wash till it read zero EC and then primed it with a Cal-Mag soaking and its working as good as any big name brand other Ive had, its a little more fibrous than the name brands I cant see a problem with it.

star crash

We Will Get By ... We Will Survive
ICMag Donor
Veteran
second that notion for Canna Coco ... I buy it in the compressed brick form ...find it a really good medium >>> user friendly

f-e

Mentor
Veteran
second that notion for Canna Coco ... I buy it in the compressed brick form ...find it a really good medium >>> user friendly

We can't get the brick in the UK. For a while I broke up cogr slabs, but that was very fibrous and fast draining. What's the bricks consistency like?

Edit: Just dawned upon me.. we are out of the EU now. Boarder crossings are all about weight. We will finally get the bricks I reckon :)

star crash

We Will Get By ... We Will Survive
ICMag Donor
Veteran