What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

What do most hydro growers run their EC at?

Bennyweed1

Veteran
Im new to this hydro game. What are most growers maxing out at EC wise? My meter converts 500ppm to 1.0 EC.

So far everytime I exceed 700ppm or 1.4 EC, my plants and roots do not like it.

Being new to this game I gotta keep telling me self less is more.

And yes, I know it is strain dependent and different for all phases of growth. I am looking for a broad consensus.

Last edited:
My opinion is that for a nubi you are right on target. Pay attention to the plants leaves and roots. Like you said different strains have different abilities and tolerances. Some strains don't like it above 1.2 and some can take it as high as 3.0. You will also have to determine what works best for your system. Also when the plant has access to the nutrient solution all the time like dwc and others the ec must be lower. Again this is just my opinion, different environmental conditions and water quality will have to be factored in to the equation also.

FlowerFarmer

Veteran
Under HID lighting I've never had a problem hitting my plants @ 1.8 - 2.0 EC from clone through flower.

When growing straight water culture / hydroton I would see deficiencies otherwise.
This was running FloraMicro & FloraBloom as per Lucas's ratio/teachings.

I'd say if you're running straight hydro in which you don't have a media like rockwool or coco to hang onto your nutes/salts you'd be safe pushing to about 1000 ppm @ .5 conversion. Nutrient retaining medium I'd run less.

Let your EC meter tell you what's happening though.