What's new

Ubuntu Linux ... WOW!!!!

Hey all...

I have been using PC's for about 20 yrs so I am pretty well versed on general aspects. Some of you may may have seen my previous post on having heavy shit with windows vista... So I decided.. hey lets try out this Ubuntu and see what it is like..

Well I can say that I am soooo impressed!! It is lighting fast.. honestly I just cant believe how quick everything is, clean layout, ease of use. Its so impressive. :)

I had to fiddle a bit to work out how to get my 3G going , but it is painless and straight forward.

I just need some help with one aspect so far:

My 3G modem has software which normally monitors how much I upload and download, but it doesnt work in the linux environment.

What can program or method can I use to monitor this?

Thanks for any help people :)

Hey Soulfly22583

I followed that link but u have to fill out all sorts of forms and crap and its only a 30 day trial...

Is there not something free in the spirit of Linux ?? ;)

soulfly22583

Trust me.. I'm A Professional..
Veteran
lol, sorry i didnt notice it wasnt free. Ill keep looking around and see if i can find something for ya

fred b

hey yea ubuntu is nice :)

what you what is a network or traffic monitor, there's tons of such apps for linux. the best woulds would be iptraf or vnstat for console

of course theres a lovely GUI network stats app too but I cannot remember the name of it atm, ill get back to you ;)

greets
fred b

soulfly22583

Trust me.. I'm A Professional..
Veteran
can you give us the name of the software you were using on your windows box? that will speed up the search process

Happy 7

You could use GKrellM.

gkrellm0.png

http://www.econowics.com/linux/241/how-to-install-gkrellm-on-ubuntu-linux/

I think it's in the Ubuntu package repository.

Or

Gnome's default system monitor.

gnome-system-monitor.png

Or ntop
how to install

load_stats.jpg

Or Nagios but that's probably a bit over the top. ;)