What's new

Standards Used in Testing

Green Supreme

Veteran
So I see all these people so firm in their stance for one testing facility or the other. My questions would be, where did these places acquire the standards to test against? Especially those in the US. Can we really believe these tests? Just wondering how so many folks can put faith in such things. Standards are not easy to come by. Peace GS

ps. apologies if this is in the wrong forum, if so feel free to move

Gray Wolf

A Posse ad Esse. From Possibility to realization.
Mentor
ICMag Donor
Veteran
I just glimpsed this post and not only applaud the question, but have some related questions to add. Please excuse my ignorance on any really dumb ones!

As a manufacturing engineer, I selected and installed automatic GC analysis equipment, and without exception, the automated equipment I installed, required a standard signature programmed into them, to be able to sort out the results from the test.

In keeping with that limited experience, my negotiations with a local lab for shared research fell through as the details unfolded, because they also need standards. When I asked for it to be tested for THC, CBD, and CBN, there was no problem and the owner proudly noted that he belonged to an association and they compared and shared standards.

The problem began when I asked if he could also do THCA and he said he would need another standard and then I started talking about the other cannabinoids, turpenoids and residual solvent, and contaminants in the solvent, and pesticides, and very quickly all my shared research plans fell apart from unattractive costs and lack of standards. He was willing to do anything I wanted, but it required another test and or standard, that I specifically had to specify, if I wanted it done.

I am especially interested in their standards for all the turpenoids known to be present in cannabis, as well as what contaminants they automatically check for.