What's new

So how do you prep your coco

Ono Nadagin

I am new to coco, when I packed up my old grow room 3 years ago CoCo was brand new... now that I am back and have read the wealth of info on it I am going to give it a try, but I am a bit confused as how to prep it for use

So I love Botanicaire so I am using their coco blocks... may switch in the future but for now I go with what I bought :p

So I am wondering how you gusy prep your coco

I have read ppl use clearex(Of which I have none) and others that use Calmag(I have a bottle of calmag plus) when doing an initial drench

I have an R/O system thats damn neer to 7ph and 0 ppm ( I remember using cal mag because I used R/Od water but for the life of me I cant remember why... lol I am an old mana and I forget shit easily... esp after 3 years of not using the knowledge)

I have soaked the bricks I bought in plain R/Od water and then poured off the excess water through a fine screen and them checked the waters ph and ec.... after a 48 soak the ph was 5.9ish but the ppms were 790!!!.. wtf

So I assume it is the nature of the coco to bufferthe ph into this range?
but whats up with such high ppms? will these ppms go down with more flushes and if I use calmag+ wont it cause the base ppms to go even higher

Also what other additives do I need to put in... I assume I need something microbail for the roots... do I need to inocculate the coco with these?

So let me knwo what I need to do and what I am doing wrong

tyia

Ono

Last edited:

Ono Nadagin

ty I have already read that... still have the above question as I see ppll do it so many diff ways ..

the main thing that is bothering me now is that the run off from the 1st soak was almost 800pm.... hopefully the next soaks run off will be lower and ease my worries.

I just dont want to f'it up as I want to plant some seedlings in coco soon and I am worried it might not be prepped right and kil the seedlings.... or clones

gaiusmarius

me
Veteran