What's new

Pheno hunting in raised bed 4x4 tent

Greencedar

I’m wondering if anyone is doing this and could offer up some advice.

I’ve been keeping my moms in a living soil 3x3 raised bed for a few years now with mostly blumat drip irrigation and love how easy it is to keep the plants happy. All the plants are tested for HLV that go into the bed to keep things safe. I can go on vacation etc and plants don’t need attention.

I’m thinking of converting a tent to a 4x4 raised bed for pheno hunting mostly indica/hybrids. I could do around 9 plants depending on veg times/genetics. I would grow seedlings around 60 days in smaller pots on top of the bed, flip to flower, sex, and transplant the fems into the bed to flower out.

This is basically how I grow NLDs in another tent except they each get their own 20gal pot.

The only downsides I can think of are:
1) the cost of the bed and soil
2) the transplant shock/lack of roots stretching out into the beds since WLDs don’t root as much as NLDs in flower
3) the ability to shift separate pots around for spacing out different sized plants later in flower

The advantages are
1) massive root space, consistent soil moisture (less watering labour)
2) happily fed organic plants (trickier in small pots with unknown genetics).

Any advice is appreciated. It’s a bit costly and a pain getting all the soil together for these big beds if it doesn’t work out. Tents are in a basement so no issues as far as weight or tent mobility.
GC

Last edited:

Creeperpark

Mentor
Veteran

I’ve been keeping my moms in a living soil 3x3 raised bed for a few years now with mostly blumat drip irrigation and love how easy it is to keep the plants happy. All the plants are tested for HLV that go into the bed to keep things safe. I can go on vacation etc and plants don’t need attention.