What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

need some help taking pics

E

Eminem

I want to take some better pics than I get with my half broken point and shoot Kodak.

I have a Canon 50D with 2 lenses. I am still learning how to use it and want to get some shots in the flower room with lights on. The smallest lens I have is the EFS 18-55 lens.

Is there an automatic setting that will work with all the HPS (14KW) I have running? If not, what adjustments do I need to make? I am not trying to do macros, just a good clear shot of all the plants in the room (18x20).

TIA for any help.

Payaso

Original Editor of ICMagazine
Veteran
Howdy man, I am using a digital Sony for my pix, and have to adjust the white balance to get nice shots under the HPS lamps...Metal halide comes out mostly ok without adjustment, just a little blue.

I actually use fill flash when doing bud close ups, and have the flash set to it's lowest output setting...seems to make the backgrounds disappear to black which is nice. For overall room shots I do not use flash, just the existing lights... unless I am sneaking into a darkened room and shooting wiht flash only. That's when you can get some great stuff...but do your shoots quick and get out swiftly, you don't want to mess with the plant's light rhythms....!

Happy growing, and shooting...

Try ALL the different settings and pick the best result. Remember which settings got that result for you, and use them consistently.

DoobieDuck

ICMag Donor
Veteran