What's new

Need a good organic composted soil

rrog

Veteran
I'm new to the soil section, so hopefully I won't get beaten too badly here.

I need an organic soil, high compost, without additives such as Myco, guano, etc. I'll be adding these things separately.

Maybe Lowes or Home Depot may has something?

Thanks for any insight.

maryjohn

Veteran
no beatings my man, but perhaps I can direct you to the stickies, where you will find numerous recipes. I use something like LC's soil mix, which is very good. if you live in a very dry or very wet place, you'll want to ask around for modifications or make your own mix and try to observe how performs.

If you have trouble finding ingredients, let us know your region of the planet and chances are someone else will be from there too and know where to send you.

Remember on this board and most others, everyone is talking to you from a different set of experiences, so you can wind up with two or more contradictory right answers.

jaykush

dirty black hands
ICMag Donor
Veteran
chances are you wont find soil like that at home depot. i would check local pant nursery's first and ask them.

or make your own soil.

Clackamas Coot

Veteran
I'm new to the soil section, so hopefully I won't get beaten too badly here.

I need an organic soil, high compost, without additives such as Myco, guano, etc. I'll be adding these things separately.

Maybe Lowes or Home Depot may has something?

Thanks for any insight.
rrog

Depending on where you're located, Lowe's carries a straight peat moss product under the name of 'Lakeland' which is packed by Sun Gro Horticulture who manufactures the Sunshine Mix line of products and the Black Gold consumer product line.

Locally, Lowe's sells perlite in 3.8 (or is it 4.0) cf bags. Peat moss and perlite is the basis of any soil regardless of where you purchase it.

That should get you started...............

HTH

CC

rrog

Veteran