What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Ideal pot size for growing medium-sized plants?

ithinkiam

Because I am growing in my closet I am trying to keep the plants (I have 3) from growing too tall. My closet space is about 2' x 4', btw. The plants are also in small, temporary 1.5 gallon (approx) pots which are too small, I know. (The plants are already outgrowing them.)

I want to keep them from growing too tall (over 3.5 feet) and stalky and would prefer them to be globular in shape. I have not attempted to prune the plants as I am not experienced in doing so and don't want to damage them. However, I have been pinching them along the main stem. I cannot tell for sure if it has been helping, though.

I am wondering when and if I should transplant them into larger pots? And what size and shape of pot would be best to use? Or if it is even necessary or healthy to do so at this point in vegetation?

They are about 6-weeks-old and around 10-12 inches in height.

These pictures were taken days ago; the plants have since grown 2-3 inches.

2r6lbt4.jpg

Don't laugh at my foil fencing! lol :)

vobymr.jpg

Does this plant look healthy? Any advice or input would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

Justin_Credible

Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary....
Veteran
I think I am...