What's new

How you can use Facebook to track your friends’ sleeping habits

R

Robrites

It is not just the government you have to worry about tracking everything you do.....

Like most of my friends, I use Facebook on a daily level. I use the website, the Facebook app, and the Messenger app. It should come as no surprise, that Facebook keeps track of every time you visit them through any of those means. The creepy thing is, that your friends can keep track of this too.
You might have heard about this recently. On Friday (19th Feb) I was surprised to find this post at the top of Hacker News. I’ve been toying with this on and off for the past 4 months. I clearly wasn’t the only to have this idea. Here’s how it works.
Last year Facebook launched messenger.com — a web-based version of their Messenger app.

"Moral of the story: We cannot hide
Everybody I’ve shown this have been equally fascinated and outraged by the accuracy with which it predicts their sleep patterns. In this digital world we leave footprints everywhere we go, and when we do it, without even thinking about it. Facebook might block this little “hack”, so your friends no longer can track you, but Facebook will always be able to do their own data analysis which is undoubtably way better than what I’ve come up with. They are likely using this data for profiling, and creating more user-specific ads."

Read the whole article https://medium.com/@sqrendk/how-you...ack-your-friends-sleeping-habits-505ace7fffb6

dddaver

Veteran
AND, just ANOTHER reason I never signed up for Facebook. It's like no-one ever saw that movie "Social Network" and saw what evil it really all was: stolen at the inception, started mostly just to rate and bad-mouth women by werdo nerds (blatantly sexist too), screwed his partners, etc., etc. If that wasn't true don't you think Zuck would have sued for defamation?