What's new

How To Wire A New Circuit To Your Panel

Shcrews

DO WHO YOU BE
Veteran
can't believe i'm the first one to post.... THANK YOU!!! this thread should be stickied, i don't know how many times i've had ppl ask me how to do this.

great tutorial, the pictures help a lot too. +KARMA+

yeah this looks like something we needed on IC, I'm surprised it wasn't here yet. It seems too easy to be true haha but I guess when you think about what's going on it's pretty simple.

Could someone explain what would be different installing a 240v line? Just the breaker, and maybe wire gauge? Two hots into the breaker and ground to the bar?

I have no experience with electrical other than the most simple of projects but I do think I could handle this. I'd like to have some of our electrical guys go over this post. They tend to keep me thinking I shouldn't fuck with electricity hah but I've never seen it laid out like that and this post makes me think I can do it no problem.

Thanks for the nice graphic tutorial.

I do not seem to have a main breaker visible by my box. Could it be behind the panel? I should not remove the front panel o the box without the main power being cut first, correct?

Dr. Conjuror

Blowstrees

Schrew- Hey no problem man! Wiring knowledge comes in handy sometimes eh?

Foolish- Sorry I forgot when I wrote this thing a few months ago that it was only written for 120 volt circuits. Wire guage and breakers all play a part in the difference. A 240 volt breaker takes up 2 slots in your panel divi'ing the load between each 120 volt spot. You would connect both hot lines to the breaker, one in each slot of the breaker , and then the ground to the busbar. Be extra careful when working with 240 volt power as it can kill you. Good luck!