What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

High humidity - Am I necessarily doomed?

ScrubNinja

Grow like nobody is watching
Veteran
I'm doing a small cfl scrog in a Growlush propagation tent. I have a great 6 inch centrifugal fan extracting and a strong 120mm computer fan inside circulating the air. It's quite gusty in there, and rather overkill.

At day 12 of 12/12 my humidity ranges from about 70 to 85% which seems to be danger zone after doing a search here. I'm in the tropics and this is my first time flowering indoors.

By my reasoning, my plants outdoors did great in high humidity... even 100% humidity when it's raining and I've never had any serious mould problems... So will I be ok here considering I have so much ventillation? Surely conditions inside my tent are less condusive to mould than outdoors with it's rain, heavy dews, and generally high humidity?

I can't run a dehumidifier because I have a shared electricity bill with another place on the property, and I wouldn't be comfortable using any more power. I actually bought one today real cheap, it's 200 watts and that's more than my lights, lol.

Strains are Shiva skunk and The Pure. I've never grown them before but dude they came from doesn't mess around with mould susceptible strains so yeah, what does ICmag think? :1help:

I

IceColdCrickets

well first why is your humidity so high? where is your fresh intake air coming from?? you need to figure out why it is there and make sure you get fresh air inside the grow area. If you get fresh outside air in there it will reduce the chance for mold to multiple causing a problem for you.

ScrubNinja

Veteran