What's new

From Dirt To DWC

.♠.

Hello ICMag!

I picked up a White Queen plant today that is around 6-7 inches tall and well rooted into the beer cup it is in.

I have a history of killing plants in soil right quick like and do not want to follow in old foot-steps.

I normally grow in DWC and want to switch this lady over. I know that this will stress her at the least.

She is basically ready to re-pot if it were going into soil, at this size will the crossover be to stress-full for the the plant or will she adjust?

I run the modified lucas formula and was thinking of starting this girl off with 1/3 strength formula and then easing it into full strength over the course of two weeks. Does this sound good to the more experienced growers here on IC.

Thanks for any help.

C

cyberwax

So the title is wrong, you mean from dwc to dirt? In that case i have had no bad experiences, i just place em in soil and let nature do its work.

.♠.

No, sorry.

I am loosing what I am trying to say in the mix somehow.

She is in soil now. I would like her to go into DWC but am afraid that because she is already so rooted and tall that she will stress to much.

Peace

edux710

be careful and it can be done. get a bucket of water. take the soil plant out of the pot. put a bag around the soil and roots, and get as much off as possible, once you have done that you can put it in the bucket of water and get the rest of the soil off. just use extreme care, maybe use something for propagation in the dwc when you first put you new plant in there to avoid shock. there roots are going to be funky at first but will be fine in the end. you may need a little bit bigger of a net pot than usual.

C

cyberwax

I would advice against it, the only reasonable way to move this plant is by taking a clone. But thats just me.

Lorenzo