What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

for the new grower,.....

reckon

I have been growing cannabis pretty much constantly since 1979.

If I had only one pearl of wisdom to pack in a bowl and pass around, it would be:

WATER

if your planning on using tap water, don't, if you ARE using tap water, STOP,....if you're using triple carbon filtered water (undersink dealy, costs a hundred), or an on sink "flip filter" and your local municipality is using CHLORAMINE*,...STOP.
(*most cities are using chloramine now instead of chlorine)

I recently spent a great deal of time at a friends (new grower) trying to diagnose what his troubles were,...the plants had some sort of deficiency (we both grow in moonshine's mix)...and after going back and forth on several things, it turns out his 3 stage under-sink filter was putting out 160ppm water that had a RIDICULOUS amount of calcium still in it.
changing to brand new filters brought it down to 90ppm, and still really high calcium, so basically all the nutrients were locking up, and the plants couldn't eat (the nutrients become too big a molecule to fit through the "holes" in the plants roots, basically)

so we got him a reverse osmosis system, and switched the tank from 4 gallons to a 33 gallon rubbermaid trash barrel, and stuck a submersible pump in the barrel with a garden hose running out, so now to water his plants he just flips a switch to turn on the pump, and he can water both inside and outside plants with the pure clean mineral free water.
now his water is 1 to 4 ppm, and has NO calcium, and the plants look just incredible (he's also drinking and cooking with the pure water now)