What's new

First time grower -- checklist and questions

Trismegistus

Thank you to all the contributors to this forum, I've found loads of resources for getting into growing. I'm planning my first grow and so I'd like to get some advice and critiques from people here. Feel free to recommend different equipment, specific soil/pots, etc, as I'm completely new to this. My plans and questions below.

-----------------------------------------------------------

My grow area: a 5x4x6 (length, width, height) closet with a door and an A/C vent.

Tent: 32x32x62 https://www.amazon.com/VIVOSUN-Hydroponic-Observation-Window-Growing/dp/B07PJ4VWF7/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=3x3x7%2Bgrow%2Btent&qid=1566331841&s=gateway&sr=8-4&th=1

Lighting: Vivosun 600w HID kit https://www.amazon.com/VIVOSUN-Inline-Control-Australia-Charcoal/dp/B01EV10FI0/ref=sr_1_5?keywords=vivosun+6+inch&qid=1553482210&s=gateway&sr=8-5

Filter: 6" inline fan with carbon filter https://www.amazon.com/VIVOSUN-Inline-Control-Australia-Charcoal/dp/B01EV10FI0/ref=sr_1_5?keywords=vivosun+6+inch&qid=1553482210&s=gateway&sr=8-5

Questions

1. Is this a proper amount of lighting?
2. Does this 6'' fan/filter fit my tent?
3. Any other hardware required for this tent? Not talking about pots soil and nutrients, I'll make a checklist for that below.
4. There's an A/C vent in the closet, should I leave it open or closed?
5. Seeds? Currently have some Purple Haze x Malawi. Would it be better to grow multiple strains in the same tent or just stick to the one?

Checklist (equipment)

1. pH reader
2. thermostat
3. pots (with holes in bottom)
4. soil
5. nutrients and fertilizers
6. light timer

Checklist (techniques)

1. Topping
2. training
3. light schedules
4. watering

------------------------------------------------------------