What's new

First Bio Bucket from Uruguay

Meison

Hello fellows, I have been lurking around long enough to find myself inlove with Bio buckets. Now its my time to try it.

I have been growing DWC for over a couple of years now, also RDWC. Hand watering coco, and other hydro method like rockwool hand watering and drip.

Now I found myself in a dead end, lava rocks seem to be really hard to find in my country. And I ended up buying a box of lava stones from a company that imports them from Sweden. Hella rip off if you ask me, I payed around $220 US dolars for 15kg of rocks and they don't look nothing like the ones in the other threads.

The box is I bought looks like this

Called Tylo sauna stones, and the box says lava rocks. But like I said before, they don't look nothing like the ones in your grows.

it would be great to get some help on the subject because I'm completly new to the idea of no flushing, no sterilizing, and letting the system be. I like to have everything super clean, and I hate plagues.

Right now the system is running 4 5g buckets, and a 20g reservoir.
I'm using rockwool and clay pebbles to hold the plants (3 Psicodelicia, 1 Botafumeiro).

The tent is 1.5x1.5x2.15 meters.

The intake for buckets is 1/2' and the drain pipes are 3/4' then to a 3' line back to the reservoir.

We are at ph 5.5 and 1.3 EC, I usually work with 5.5 it has been very good to me, but I always take new tricks and tips!

Every bucket has it own airstone just in case.
The pump is a 1000lts/h pump, barely hits 8-9 times the reflow of the system per hour. Already looking to get a new pump.

I wonder if the rocks are right, if so I will change the clay pebbles really fast since the roots haven't left the rockwool (10x10cm rockwool cube).

We are also using the Main Lining technique to see how this goes. We usually go for lollypoping scrog, and it works pretty nice with the DWC/RDWC.

Here's some pics of the system

Now the inside of a bucket