What's new

External monitor help

nycjb

OK so I get my 24" in the mail today and of course its not going as planned. The laptop that im using is an HP G60 with no screen, it broke and I took it off. I thought it would be plug and play but nope. It works fine on a Dell laptop, picked up the external right away. Ive tried holding FN+f4 but no luck. I feel like HP has it setup like this on purpose so you HAVE TO replace the screen. I thought it might work with HDMI so i ran out and bought a cable but still nothing. Im ready to smash this thing. I know all I have to do is get into the computer and change settings but HOW?? I really have a deep hatred for HP computers, they are designed to break after 1 year. And they lock the bios!?!?

Am I fucked?

soulfly22583

Trust me.. I'm A Professional..
Veteran
I just looked up the specs and you should be able to backdoor your way into it. One issue is that if the laptop has a BIOS setting for no external display and its activated then its gonna be a real bitch for you to get it to work. You have tried both VGA and HDMI connections, correct?

I would try hooking up the monitor via VGA and hitting FN + F5 or FN + F7 after you boot the machine from a dead start. let me know if that helps any.

nycjb