What's new

Equivalent LED for Gavita 1000w DE?

NucleoSynthesis

I’ve been using the gavitas for many many years now but more and more I see the top growers switching over to LED fixtures.

I currently run 2 x 1000w DE gavitas with a Lumatek 315cmh during flower.

I was looking to start by swapping one of my gavita units out for a comparable unit and doing a somewhat unscientific side by side to see if I’m down for the change!

Looking for recommendations to fill a 5x5 area, I regularly pull almost 2.4/2.5 LB per Fixture with my current set up, and wouldn’t want to sacrifice much on yield however I’m willing to take a slight hit if the quality will be substantially better with the more complete spectrum the LED provide.

Secondly if I was to swap to full LED and ditch the HPS are people having to add supplemental heating to achieve optimal VPD range or do the high power led units pump out similar heat to a HPS DE? As I live in a pretty cold climate.

Am I also correct in thinking there should be some electricity savings to be had with the LED over the HPS? I’ve heard the PPFD/W on the LEDs way outperforms the HPS but is that all marketing bs or does it actually equate to energy savings lol?

If there’s anything else I should be considering please let me know too as it’s safe to say I’m fairly stuck in my ways with the HPS but willing to learn so I’m all ears!

Cheers guys, Nucleo 🌌

NucleoSynthesis

Also have a pic of some U.K. grown Apple n Banana from Compound Genetics I finished up later October for my last run 😛
6335D690-5340-4CE5-B565-F91DD439480A.jpeg

NucleoSynthesis

Gavita CT 1930e.

According to Gavita..
I was ideally looking to try a marshydro fixture as I’ve been recommended by a handful of my grower buddies, the gavita seems pricey and I’ve no doubt it’s great but for a test I don’t think I can justify dropping that kinda cheddar just yet 😜 cheapest I can find is almost £2k per unit :(

NucleoSynthesis