What's new

Does combining lights = combining lumens?

67gto

I have a 150w HPS that puts out 16,000 lumens and a 250w HPS that puts out 27,500 lumens. If i use both lights in a cabinet do the lumens add up to 43,500 or am i mistaken about this.

Lazyman

Overkill is under-rated.
Veteran
Only way to tell what plants are getting is with a light meter, your local hydro shop probably has a cheap one. We're trying to get about 5-6K foot candles (I believe approx 10K lumens) to the canopy, more is better (to a point). This usually works out to ~50 watts per square foot, less is not acceptable for flowering.

Photonic resonance will result in a geometric increase in light energy which should boost your power output to 360 yottawatts, which will either flash vaporize the planet or give you some MONSSSSTER BUDZ maaaaaaan.

No, never mind, you were right...

Noobian

Green is Gold
Veteran
Seems like you would add the two and that will make your total watts, but I'm not a scientist so I don't know. There's probably som physics law involved or something

etinarcadiaego

Even in Arcadia I exist
Veteran
Sure it would equal 43,500. Why wouldn't it? Light is energy, so having multiple energy sources in a single space, I can't imagine why one would interfere with another.

Try pointing to flashlights at an object. Or at each other. Light doesn't "reflect" or "impede" other light.

C

cork144

2 light sources dont merge the lumens, lumens fire out individually.

your watts used will add up, but you wont have 43k lumens.

etinarcadiaego

Even in Arcadia I exist
Veteran
It's not about merging, he has two separate light sources occupying the same physical space. They don't need to "merge" for the area to have the total amount their output.

Why would the space have fewer lumens than the output of the 2 light sources?

pinecone

Sativa Tamer
Veteran