What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Coming out to my parents

IndiCarbed

Hey everyone! Iam kinda new here so excuse me if i have posted this on the wrong sector. Anyways...I am not from USA. In fact i am from Greece but i want as much help as i can get...and the Greek forum isnt so active.

Let's get straight to the point. I have been smoking for three years now ( i am 19). I know a lot about marijuana and it's positive and negative effects. The thing is that here in Greece the stigma you get if people know you are smoking is really harsh. My mother thinks that marijuana is not so different from heroin or any other drug. She hasn't done any research and believes only what she "sees" and hears from other people. Recently i tried talking to her about marijuana's medicinal effects and she looked at me like i was a junkie or something. Terrible feeling. She didn't respond when i asked her about her opinion...she was just silent. She already knew i was smoking...but she never asked me or csught me redhanded. The thing is...i don't want to be hiding in my closet waiting for my parents to get to work so i can enjoy a smoking session. I want to break free as Freddie said. But i am kinda terrifyed of what their reaction will be...or my mother's reaction as my father used to smoke and is more reluctant.

Did you guys experience any similar situations like mine? I really want to show them that smoking won't ruin my life, won't make me a junkie or anything bad. I would be really greatful if you could help me out on this one! Light one up for me! Cheers!

IndiCarbed