What's new

Cannabis and Meditation, Anyone?

HOPS5K

Lover of Life
Veteran
I've been getting interested in meditation lately, learning a little here and there. I have been known to have a somewhat short attention span and I was wondering if I could help that with meditation. During some recent smoke sessions, I tried mini-meditations, with the radio off and all distractions muted.

I wasn't aiming for anything except to be quiet in my mind for a few minutes. I just focused on my breathing, the smells around me, being in an already altered state (cannabis/hash). It felt good to just be quiet without any noise. I might not have quieted my mind just yet, but it was worth it, I liked the feeling even after just 5 or so minutes.

I'm still learning about this practice and how I can fuse canna smoking and meditation for a really great experience every time I partake in the herbs.

this was taken from a search I did
"Meditation is a mental discipline by which one attempts to get beyond the conditioned, "thinking" mind into a deeper state of self awareness. To free one's awareness from associating solely with the mind and its soul. There are many different meditation methods.
At the core of meditation is the goal to focus and eventually quiet your mind, thus freeing your awareness. As you progress, you will find that you can meditate anywhere and at any time, accessing an inner calm no matter what's going on around you. You will also find that you can better control your reactions to things as you become increasingly aware of your thoughts (letting go of anger, for example). But first, you have to learn to tame your mind and control your breathing."

Galactic

Bodhi is "deep in botanical meditation" and has mentioned before it being the inspirational source for some of his work.

H

hard rain