What's new

breeding hermies???

sativa92

well im in a heck of a dilema, i have 2 white rhino plants that are f4s, i have no other rhino seedstock, and i have a female and a male, and he showed pistils... all the way through the grow i knew he would be a male (taller,thicker stem, lanky) and after sexed him he showed a few hairs on top of pollen sacks..(my cab had light leaks) i hate to lose this beloved strain, and was hoping to incross another generation, if i use this male what will happen?? i have been growing this strain for 5 years outdoors and never have had one f...ing hermie on me..please help .. sativa92

sm0kateer4204

Veteran
you'd be better of if the female hermied. then you could seperate it and let it pollenate itself in turn making fem seeds. but this might be possible with the male.

L

longshot

I reckon you'd be better off not using hermaphroditic plants for breeding at all.
If you start with hermies, you end up with hermies. It is as simple as that.
Personally, I would get some more seeds, or use a different true male for the cross.

sativa92

thanks for the quick replies , do you think it matters that it was forced to hermie, by light leaks does that make a difference?
i really dont want to outcross it to something else, i was in the process of trying to stabilize the afghani leaning pheno and i was afraid if i used this male that the offspring would have hermie tendacies... thanks

also this plant screams...male except for a few hairs.

tiedye420

A male which turns female..
can sometimes be used to remove hermie traits in a crossing..
Might work with your WR, but use the male pollen on a regular female...
It really depends on the male, I believe the type hermied male nessessary goes full on female at the tips....This is a dj short trick and it works...
You can produce a 70 to 90% female ratio from this kinda work..
Good luck

L

longshot

reaperz said:
to make fem seeds dont you use a hermied female to pollinate other females???