What's new

a little hydro help please..

well it seems like everyone is doing KBS grows on here so i hope i can get a little help with this.. im very new to hydro so please bear with me..

ok well i built a little hydro setup like the one here... http://overgrow.com/edge/showthread.php?t=273797
well after building it, it doesnt seems like it would work that well.

First of all, he designed it so the roots only stay in the 5" pots full of rockwool. I dont like this because it seems like the plants would wanna lets the roots go more.. This could cause it not to grow big.

2nd, correct me if im wrong here, i think having the drip lines drip onto the rockwool would allow the rockwool to pretty much filter the nutrients out of the water and hold a lot of nutrients and get all shitty.

so if anyone could let me know how they think this would work or some other opinions, that would be great.

ok next question would be, what kind of setup would you build for a little 'Mills Pride C13' cabinet with 250 watts? Keep in mind i will be starting with seeds so no SCROG yet.

Im thinking like [3-4] 3gal buckets in a DWC setup would work well.. i think the 5gal would be too high to begin with and not let me grow very high. So if i did this, would you have a main res or just fill each bucket up with nutes on their own?

please please please help a hydro newbie out here. i really wanna get away from soil due to the transplanting and huge messes. I also love the veg times for hydro. also, i wanna start some Lifesavers ASAP!

Right now i have...
- a couple rubbermaid bins
- [3] 6" netpots
- some rockwool
- lava rocks
- [2] air pumps
- lots of airstones
- 200gph water pump
- 70gph water pump
- and lots of seeds

coming in the mail soon...
- GH nutes (finally) :D

thanks einstein... :)

does anyone have any comments or anything about that other setup.. i was hoping to get this started today. :confused:

hydro help

hydro help