What's new

25% more yield with a diffused LED ?

Kimes

First, this is what I mean by diffused led:

HTG7Zso.png

From here:

There are studies online that diffused light is better compared to ones without...

I am no expert, but would love to hear from others whether they benefitted from diffusing lights, especially LED´s.

I have noticed that plants generally feel happier and dont stress so much... Also less need for calmag compared to non-diffused... Others..?

Last edited:

SuperBadGrower

One thing is for sure: you don't need a lens or other kind of covering to diffuse the light when it comes to spread out bar-style LEDs

In fact, many bar fixtures released today might even "benefit" from some way to slightly focus the light, because it shoots out at a very wide angle.

Anyway, diffusion is probably not the purpose of those coverings in that video. If you look at 28:15, you'll see one fixture without its covering, right next to Mr. Canna Hat. It has exposed wiring on the canopy side and, honestly, looks like a bit shoddy DIY, sorry to say. (Hey it was 2018)
They would have had to cover them up to keep the LEDs and construction safe from water and damage...

edit: FWIW it does look like the material on the redder lights is more diffusing, and since they use 4x 50w strips per light, there might be a bit of hotspotting to remedy. Its not an optimal construction at all. Modern lights in the same style use way more diodes at lower intensity

I used to have a study about light diffusivity in greenhouses but I can't find it anymore. Diffusing the light improved plant performance (yield) in it. most of those studies are about sunlight in greenhouses and it makes for a less than ideal comparison.