What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

help!! PH dropping possible nutrient lockout

hello, the last few times i have flowered i have noticed that about the 4 week into it my ph levels start dropping instead of rising. is this normal? anyone else have this problem? i am using GH nutes in a ebb and gro system. this always happens aroung the same time and its really starting to bother me. any assistance would be appreciated!!!

bombadil.360

Andinismo Hierbatero
Veteran
hello man, I have no experience with hydro, but if you notice it starts to lower always at that particular time, why not add pH up when you start to notice?

can one add lime to a hydro system? :chin:

good luck!

SumDumGuy

"easy growing type"
Veteran
I've read in many places that pH and TDS play a synchronous role. Have your TDS readings change as well during the same time. Does it go down with pH?

jammie

ganjatologist
Veteran
hey there dg- lots of things cause or contribute to ph shift. some nutrients have worse buffers in them than others. if your running beneficial bacteria in your system and ya use something with sugar/carb in it that can cause a bacterial overgrowth which will drop ph. root rot will cause it. but then as Sum said it could just be normal feeding (see attachment) . how much of a swing are we talkin? are your plants green and growing? does the roots look or smell bad?

Attachments

• article556_01.gif
    article556_01.gif
    10.9 KB · Views: 14
Yeah, let's see some numbers. What's your pH range? how big is the pH drop?