What's new

using mj while taking antidepressants?

I quit self medicating with mj a few weeks ago and have since started using Cymbalta for depression/anxiety as well as valium,vistiril, and nortriptiline for sleep per a doctors orders. This along with various pain meds, yeah im not in great shape

My conditions have worsened and I was thinking of trying a lil bit of my own medicine instead of this coctail of pills of nightmare proportions.

Will it have negative effects that anyone can attest to using while on these meds?
OR would it be best to do as I am and try to get my head back together as per Doc orders without using mj?

Please no bashing, this is a serious and dangerous ordeal

Thanks for any input

C

funker

hey buddy-

only u can really tell whats goin on in ur own head. im not a doctor but if i had to guess the real concern would not be adding mj so much as it would be stopping all the other stuff cold turkey. u are taking some powerful pharmie meds and u may want to reduce them over a period of time. as far as adding mj to the mix, i've never had interaction problems with my meds but they are not the same as yours so i don't want to act like i totally know. if the mj does help mitigate some of the issues you're dealing with i would really consider being honest with ur doc and telling him that. it helps to have all that stuff on the table and if you want to back off the meds the doctor would be able to give you the best advice about doing so.

good luck and i hope it works out for u my friend

-funk

Well it apparently is not good for me to use mj while taking these stupid meds as i had a bad reaction. Damned if I do and damned if i dont :badday:

Jeff, thanks for the peace of mind, I can tell that you know how im feeling right now.

Last edited:

pineappaloupe

antidepressants are very intense medications. if you condition is that dire that you might need them I would stop taking anything... and that applies to caffeine in many cases.