What's new

Overwatering or Nitrogen toxicity?

Diego_

Hello there colleagues.

This is my first time growing, have two plants on flowering and two little clones on 18/6.

Something happened to one of my plants (suddenly), it has curvy/claw leaves

After a bit of research, I have narrowed down the possible cause to OVER-WATERING and/or NITROGEN TOXICITY.

Info:
- All organic
- Watered with banana tea and guano from seabirds (just like previous watering, maybe a bit more of banana peels into the tea)
- It happened all at once, at the whole plant and all the leaves

Would you please give me some input?

Attachments

• curv_01.jpg
    curv_01.jpg
    90.4 KB · Views: 60
  • curv_02.jpg
    curv_02.jpg
    62.5 KB · Views: 39

Mikell

Dipshit Know-Nothing
ICMag Donor
Veteran
How much water how often?

Doesn't look like too much N, early over watering more likely.

Curiosity, what's banana tea?

Diego_

How much water how often?

Doesn't look like too much N, early over watering more likely.

Curiosity, what's banana tea?

Thanks, hope you are right.

It is like a soup made of banana peels. It is common among roses growers because is supposed to contribute potassium (K)

Crusader Rabbit

Veteran
I've been told that I should wash hands after handling bananas. The residual pesticide load on banana peels can be significant. I'd only do this tea with organically grown bananas.

Once plants are rooted, you can't do much about excess nitrogen in your soil. But it sure is easy to correct over-watering. The leaves aren't that dark a green so I doubt N toxicity. Stopping watering will put a stop to the extra guano for a while though, so you're covered.

Two flowering plants under 18/6 ? Are they auto-flowering strains?

Z

Ziggaro

Yeah looks like water issue not nutrient issue.
N tox typically presents curled leaf tip and usually burnt tips as well. When the whole leaf is curled that is probably not (just) n tox.