What's new

Organics for noobs

GonjaLove

Ok so...forgive me as I may sound like a total noob but I learned the hard way with hydro so I figure no question is ever thst bad. I've grown in coco for the past few years and been using general hydroponics nutes. Just the basics...bloom and micro. Very few additives if any. I can grow some killer bud but I feel like the taste from coco just isn't there. I want to learn how to grow organically in the worst way but in the way hydro was for me, everything seems so overwhelming. I see some media recipes that are as simple as worm castings...then I see some that are 6 pages long. What would be a good mix to start with? And do any of you know of any good threads I should read? I want some good tasting shit. It's no longer about yield for me. I have a bunch of og #18's, koshers, super lemon haze, and gsc's sitting here waiting. I don't wanna put them in coco or bubble buckets. Help! :dance013:

B

Baked Alaskan

By far the easiest method I've found are earthboxes.

I use two Rubbermaid totes, 18gal for the bottom one as the reservoir and a 14gal for the soil, and a black 6" nursery pot as the foot (wick). I use promix for the soil medium and mix compost in the top 4 inches or so. I use water with no nutrients in the reservoir and Happy Frog 5-5-5 mixed with high P guano in the fertilizer trenches.

I think using the compost in conjunction with the fertilizer trenches gives this style an edge, both feeding the soil (compost)and feeding the plants (fertilizer trenches). I also brew compost teas once or twice a cycle.

Look up earthboxes on YouTube, bunch of good videos. But use a double tote system, 14gal inside an 18gal, it is much stronger than zip tied lids as the base.

I've had great success, with less labor and less cost, you won't be disappointed.

Good luck.

Scrappy4

Veteran