What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

stopping coco compacting during flowering...

siftedunity

cant re Member
Veteran
hey guys ive been growing in coco for many years now. I understand the medium a fair bit and do pretty well but as always im looking for ways to improve things.
ive noticed that at about 3 or 4 weeks flowering the coco starts to compact slightly. I know his may be partially to do with the roots filling into the coco. but also feel that the constant watering also causes this.
id really like to have a nice fluffy aerated medium as I feel like the compacting probably hinders extra root growth and nutrient uptake.
so therefore im wondering if anyone has any tips to counteract this. ive thought about adding something to the coco but I don't want to increase the drying out time too much as I cant really facilitate watering more than I already do daily.

any thoughts or ideas would be much appreciated. im using 2gal pots, with 2inches hydroton in the bottom for drainage.

CoCoSativas

try fabric pots

Fabric does this too. It happens when the roots fill the pots. Its also from the water pressing the fiber down it happens on plants with lots of space left.

O.p. could cut with perlite but the coco still has a excellent air and moisture ratio. This time i used perlite which is not bad but pure coco kicks ass.

I wouldnt worry too much about the compacted effect. If you use pots that are too big its just a waste of coco and solution. My opinion anyway

doob

Never had a problem, it compacts a bit rest is roots! I use canna pro and that stuff is top class, don't need perlite imo