What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

New to Cloning

wickedpete66

Hey guys, I'm new to cloning and decided to build a bubble cloner, but I have a few questions. Let me start by telling you how I set it up

2-20lt plastic storage containers w/lid
1 dual 60gl air pump
2- 10"air stones

Basically just drilled 3/8" holes into lid took some left over air tubing sliced down one side so it will open up. Made 28 sites and using the 2 airstones to create bubbles. Pretty straight forward design. I use the secon container as a humidity dome. filled with water and added olivias cloning solution.

My question is should the stems be in the water or just above water line, and if it is above water line to I need to use cloning dip/gel on the cutting. Water temp is 73* and as you can see in the pics the air temp is 74* and humidity at 99%

You could put the stems in the water, but I'd just let them get hit with the bubbles, so they sort of get misted.

Nice looking set up btw.

Burt

Veteran
stems should be in water-you don't have aero jets shooting water/air at the stems so its best to keep the stems submerged in the oxygenated water
my ghetto setup was very similar to LOUGREW's-a tiny rubbermaid bottom and a small wand coupled with a piece of tin foil with holes poked for stems-while i usually do cubes, i had no choice but to try it and it saved my precious SD IBL cutting-good luck-they look great

the_dungeon

hey i was thinking of making something like this..

how was your success wickedpete?

and is your name after the wickedpete beer?

wickedpete66

the_dungeon said:
hey i was thinking of making something like this..