What's new

best way to control co2 from tank?

greenduck

is there a cheap way to control co2 from a tank?

there are plenty of variables when it comes to how much co2 to have leaking from your tank for your harvest:

cubic footage
uptake by plants
how sealed the room is
etc

in our other room we have a Sentinal that automatically adjusts the co2 to around 1500pm on our burner. in the other room we want to seal, add a light, add co2.

question: im new to the tank method so please fill me in on how to set it up. i have the tanks (and will soon have a regulator, hose) but what is the best way to regulate the co2 tank? the CAP and Sentinal sniffers are great but expensive $$$. there is the timer by CAP (click here for amazon link) and the hydro store employee stated " just set this lil device to run for 30sec every 15mins while the lights are on and you're solid" i asked "so that will give me the desired level of co2 in my room without knowing the cubic footage?" he kept saying ya but i wasnt impressed.

seems as though most would say spend the money and get a digital sensor like sentinal or CAP. any cheaper way???

thanks

greenduck

cool man, just looked at your link. looks great....guess ill be buying another sentinal or one of those fuzzy logics. excellent resource thread!

boroboro

I bought a CAP PPM4 about 3 harvests ago. I was initially nervous about it, as it seemed much too cheap (about US $200 at the local grow store). The store reassured me with a 3 year walk-in-walk-out-with-new-unit warranty.

So far it seems to be working fine. There is no ppm readout, but it seems to hold the setpoint fairly closely. Within 30 seconds of opening the flower room door I can usually hear the C02 tank solenoid click on. A 20 pound C02 tank lasts 18-20 days (10 x 10 x 9 foot room, overly full of 6 foot flowering plants).