What's new

Root aphids?? If so I need to go with the nuclear option! Please advise pics included

So I have been having an issue for many months. I thought it was nute lock out/defency but I think I finally found the root cause. I use smart pots and top feed in veg and go ebb n flow for flower. Today one of my trays in flower showed this horrible sight..
I know it might make you itch or puke but if you take a look you will see these fat gross brown/blask aphid like basterds. here is a pic of them stuck to a sticky stip and floating in my tray
They look big but there smaller and fatter ones and I have also seen winged ones. In the yellow strip pic you can see winged and non-winged ones. For months i have had issues with lower leaves yellowing and dying, very weak stems, slow growth, low yield and what looked to be a very bad cal/mag related def but I have been using full line of cutting edge for 9 years and have never changed my medium or anything in those 9 years. ph always 5.8-6.2, temps always 68-80, humid 45-65%, use co2 and always had 1/5-2lbs per light. last 18 months had nothing but issues with cloning, yield, and health. lower leaves looked yellow , rusty and then died. in flower plants lost all green within 3 weeks and finished but loose buds and low yield. These monsters have to been root aphids right? They are all over my roots poking out of my smart pots in trays in flower right? I run perpetual and harverst every 2 weeks and have 6 trays in flower. What should I do? I thank you in advance.

Granger2

Veteran