What's new

Ex landlords advice

G

Blueberry farmer's

(Advice PLEASE!! Landlord coming on Monday to 'investigate my power bill)
thread caused the creation of this thread.

Having actually been a landlord I consider myself to be knowledgeable on Landlord Tenant relationships.

I had been a landlord simply because I was an electrician/many hats. The developer, individuals would typically give me an apartment and salary to collect rents and do minor repairs. Things such as stairwell clearing(safety issue) would be my responsibility or in large complexes a janitor.
Keeping my day job doing the landlord thing evenings and weekends was too sweet a deal to turn down.
Being the electrician that actually wired the building was the reason they hired me.

I would be the electrician for several properties and the other property managers would share the stories with me.

The number 1 rule is do not make a pest of your self. This means be quiet and respectful of the neighbors these neighbors will likely be the reason trouble begins.
Have your friends who visit do the same. Say hello in the hall if its done where you live.

This is a hard one here....invite the landlord in the kitchen living room or any room you do not grow in. Let them see you are not destroying the place and it is in good serviceability. If the kitchen or bathroom has any kind of leak call them right away. In other words appear to be open. Not ever letting anyone know you are growing.

It always made me suspicious if someone was never having a thing break or any complaints.
Roaches in the ashtrays were a dead give away. Pay your rent and let them see rooms your not growing in.

Now that that is said there is an other type of landlord.
This landlord is a voyeur of sorts not always sexual but real nosy.
I have had little old ladies that as soon as the tenant went to work would go into the apartments and just snoop around.