What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Growing clones outdoors....

Bud Green

I dig dirt
Veteran
I wish i was here to tell you all how to do it...But I'm looking for more knowledge on this subject myself...

I'd like this thread to be a place for members with experience to share what they've learned..

I've been growing outdoors, on and off, since the '80's.. And I'm pretty good at it.
However, I've always been a seed guy...That said, I only use good seeds...

I've got little indoor experience, but I am experienced and successful at taking and growing clones...
Last July I took cuts from everything in the outdoor garden..
I rooted them and kept them all alive until after I sampled my harvest in late Oct...
I decided to only keep the clones that were from two of the outdoor plants...
I choose those two plants based on these factors:

-Overall size and structure of the plant...I want large plants in my outdoor holes..
-Natural resistance to bugs and fungi (mold)...in my humid environment, that is usually sativa dominant hybrids
-Bud size and overall plant yield...we all want a nice a nice yield
-Trichome count (density) on the buds...Yeah, baby!!
-Taste and final smell of cured product... who cares about quantity if the quality isn't there...

I'll keep taking more cuts off the clones and have plenty to go outside in May...

But I have some questions:

I know clones from the same mother are genetically the same, but I know that some seem to grow better than others.
Is stucture all I'm looking for in two clones when deciding which to plant and which to trash?