What's new

Can a HPS ballast run a MH bulb?

stoned16

The title says it all really, just wondering if anyone could tell me will my hps ballast run my mh bulb?This may seem like a silly question to some but i have searched the forums and cant find anything...its got vision lighting written on it..thanks!

rives

Inveterate Tinkerer
Mentor
ICMag Donor
Veteran
Standard magnetic ballasts can't run a regular MH without modifying the ballast. Check out the CMH thread about conversion lamps for running on HPS ballasts. I believe that some of the electronic ballasts can run either, depending on the manufacturer and the wattage.

CMH thread - https://www.icmag.com/ic/showthread.php?t=72215

stoned16

Thanks but my original question is i have a sunmaster 250w mh light that says it runs off a hps ballast, do you think it will run off my 400w hps ballast?i got it off a guy who bought it in a grow shop so im presuming he talked to the shop owner and he gave him the interchangable bulb am i correct?

Greenheart

Veteran
Unless it is one of the newage auto-detecting digital ballasts the wattage on both the ballast and the bulb need to match. "Convertable" ballast is the name for one that runs both and it has a toggle switch. Not sure about the digital stuff. I believe both HPS and the Ceramic Metal Halide (CMH) run off of a HPS ballast and a Metal Halide (MH) runs off of a MH ballast only.

tokinblackguy

Thanks but my original question is i have a sunmaster 250w mh light that says it runs off a hps ballast, do you think it will run off my 400w hps ballast?

Short answer, no it will work and you risk, shorting out the ballast, exploding the bulb, and worst of all FIRE. 250W bulb, never in different wattage ballast, MH, CMH, or HPS. Digital, I'm not sure but I would say "no" to that as well if I had to guess.