What's new

Feminization of seeds

sophisto

What is the current methods used by breeders to obtain feminized seeds???

I understand how the S1 is created but somehow I doubt breeders are handing out S generations????

If it is an F1 or F2 how do they obtain feminized status??? Do they simply take pollen from the self pollinating male pollen of another strain and hit it to the mom???????

Also in your experience are the feminized seeds more true to the genetic or are there just fewer variances in phenotypes????? I get it that there are no males......DUH!!......LOL....

any and all information is apreciated.......

Last edited:
G

Hello...im no expert but have done many femininized seed runs with great success...I sts my females which is sodium thiosulphate solution...you dilute silver nitrate and sodium thiosulphate (anyhydrous) and mix them up and spray your target plant or donor plant once and wait a week or 2 if no ballbags you can spray again but it may take longer to drop pollen if you spray twice....there will be variation but that should be expected to some degree....you will have to search for the actual recipe on mixing as they are not in front of me...FET was the originator of this method I believe so you may want to check over at HG..I know its there....this works great for my situation...hope this made sense to you and maybe it will help you along the right path...good luck
take care
inkognyto

sophisto

somebody please tell me that this is not the way top breeders are achieving their female seeds......IF so I want nothing to do with chem created seeds.....

dc105

ICMag Donor
Jdog! This is exactly the way top breeders get fem'd seeds! Usually sprayed at week 1 and week 3! Like inkognyto said there is still alot of variation. Pollen count is alot lower versus natural breeding!

sophisto

With this being said I never want femmed seeds other than S1 fems that I make.