What's new

Fast Fungi / Myco Mother Culture Mix

Going to start off by saying that im not a scientist - just a simple fella that likes to play with dirt.

Been getting alot of questions from folks on my Earth Juice sticky thread about this stuff.

Haven't seen this documented so here is what I have been doing.

Its really simple & you cant really screw up making it but * Do Use Caution * when applying the fungi stuff with seedings & clones as it will attack - eat - kill them quick.

I see there being many different variations with this, some examples would be:

1. Bacterial Dominate
2. Fungal Dominate
3. With Nutes
4. Without Nutes

So basically what im doing is taking my (beneficials) powder to an visibly growing activated state by giving it an ideal environment & nutrition.

There are several benefits to this - some being:

1. Beneficials more readily available for duty.
2. Create large volume of highly active (beneficials) material
3. Speeds up the breaking down of added nutrients.
4. Also adds various nutrients from the food for the plant.
5. Fungi ready for further expansion via bubbled teas.
6. (Beneficials) product lasts a long time as a little bit goes a long way.

Making Beneficials Culture Mix

I just use whatever soil mix as the base - screened compost works great.

picture.php

Then depending on what my plans are I will just add specific (food store items & or nutrients) to the compost with the (beneficials) powder.

They love these items & it makes them grow like crazy.

picture.php

picture.php

#1 Bacterical / Nitrogen dominate - Wet & Dry ferts added (VERY STRONG)

picture.php

#2 Fungal / Phosphorus dominate - Wet & Dry ferts added (VERY STRONG)

#3 Fungal - No Added ferts - just food

picture.php

#1 & #2 were moistened heavily with ALOT of liquid & dry fertilizer & the #3 was just wetted with spring water.

picture.php

I added vermiculite to aid in moisture control - I try to keep them semi damp by misting almost daily.