What's new

Which HPS Lamp?

BuzzBob

aka Buzz'dBob
Veteran
Okay... So hopefully y'all are growing accustomed to my Noob A$$ questions by now. I'll get past it, I promise! :)

I have just obtained a 400 watt HPS fixture that I'll be converting for my Flowering Grow Light. {That should be fun, Not-So-Handyman Bob says...}

That aside, the fixture did not come with a lamp. Now I am looking into what I should obtain. I've already invested more than I should've for getting started, and am not sure I care to drop another chunk for one of those Hortilux lamps {or whatever}...

So, my question is, would I be going wrong if I went with a more standard HPS Lamp, and a backup? Or am I into it so far now that I'd be wasting my investment dollars if I don't put out the extra for the special grow lamp?

Recommendations? Suggestions?

Thanx!

-BuzzBob

Mr GreenJeans

Sat Cat
Veteran
BB

I am an absolute newb myself, so I may be thinking through my shorts here... but I've been looking at the same thing getting ready to build out a cab. From what I've come across the amount of improvement with these HPS specialty lights go Son Agro > Hortilux > Sylvania Grolux, with the Grolux having 58k lumens and reportedly better par.

But instead we could supplement with cheaper flouros to get the blue. I've been thinking of this anyway to get light to underneath the canopy.

Looks like a lot of folks here have grown beautiful bud with straight HPS, so I don't think we can lose either way we decide, however I'm leaning more toward supp'ing with the flouros right now.

Cheers -MGJ

King

I'd get the Hortilux. It has 1.5 times the PAR wattage rating of a regular HPS. So basically one 400 hortilux, puts out as much light as 600 watts worth of regular old HPS bulbs(Not a single 600HPS, 1.5 x 400 watt HPS). Not to mention the extra benefits of blue you'd be adding by using the Hortilux.