What's new

When a plant starts to flower early, then goes back to veg before flowering again...

So what's the deal with plants going into flowering early during spring, then going back into veg when days are long enough during summer, then flowering again at the end of summer...?...

I'm still new to growing this plant (3rd year) and haven't quite gathered all of the the main reasons why people don't want this to happen? These are some potential things that come to my mind, not sure if true or not..?..

Is it because early flowering will result in smaller plants over all compared to a plant that was in veg all the way until the end of summer? Time/energy wasted flowering and then switching back to veg when it could be vegging the whole time?

....A different structure to the plants & buds?

....Lower quality flower at the end?

....Increased chance for hermi/nanners?

.....just screwing up the natural cycle of the plant in general?

I vaguely remember reading about something at some point years ago, before I ever grew the plant, that there is a certain "method" of growing that some folks do where they intentionally let the plant go into flowering early for a short period of time...and then it goes back into veg for a while before flowering completely...Some sort of claims about that resulting in a larger yield or some sort of benefit?...I want to say they called it "super-cropping" but not sure if I recall correctly or if that term refers to something different...?..

hyposomniac

Veteran
Put a kosher kush outside too early and this happened.. a couple few weeks of early flowering followed by a reveg and the stall that comes with it. Plant lost out on probably a month or more of productive veg time. All the other plants that didn't flower early were much bigger and more productive.

hellfire